October 20, 2009, press release from the Arizona Supreme Court:

The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments is asking for public comment on six candidates for an opening on Division Two of the Arizona Court of Appeals created by the appointment of Chief Judge John Pelander to the Arizona Supreme Court.  The candidates are: Christina M. Cabanillas, Gary J. Cohen, Virginia C. Kelly, Michael O. Miller, Etheridge H. Smith and Christopher L. Straub.

Their applications for the office can be viewed online at the commission’s website, http://supreme.state.az.us/jnc.

The commission will meet in Tucson in the Ocotillo Room of the Hotel Arizona, 181 West Broadway, starting at 10:00 a.m. on November 4.  Citizens may address the commission about any of the candidates at 10:00 a.m. on November 4 at that location.

Public comment will only be accepted at the 10:00 hearing. Interviews of the candidates are open to the public and will begin at 11:00.  Written comments can be sent to 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ 85007 or by e-mail to [email protected]. Comments should be received no later than October 30 to be considered. Anonymous comments cannot be considered.

After the interviews the commission will recommend at least three nominees for the vacancy to Governor Jan Brewer, who will appoint the new judge.